Mexican Grand prix: Race results

Max Verstappen won the Mexican Grand prix after a somewhat dull Mexican grand prix.

Max Verstappen had a good start while Lewis Hamilton could easily follow him on the first stint of the race. From the beginning everyone knew it was all about the tire and pitstop strategy. Verstappen started on the red tire and went to the pit first to switch to the medium tire.

Hamilton went in a couple of laps after for his first pitstop and changed to the Hard tire trying to get to end. Everyone expected Race leader Max Verstappen to join later for another pitstop but instead he opted to manage his tires. Due to lower than expected degradation they lasted for the remaining of the race. Max finished 1st while Lewis and Perez ended 2nd and 3rd,

Haas F1

Haas F1 drivers Kevin Magnussen started from P19th after a four place grid penalty due to an engine change and Mick Schumacher started from P15.

It was a long 71-lap race with both cars on a one stop strategy. Mick started on the softs and switch to the mediums in lap 25. While Kevin had the opposite strategy starting on mediums and switching to the softs on lap 39.

It didn’t brought them any good results. They finished together on P16 and P17.

Kevin Magnussen

Kevin Magnussen finished the race on P17. “we just didn’t have good pace today” he stated, he looks forward to the next race in Brazil

Mick Schumacher

Mick Schumacher finished 16th today, one spot in front of his teammate. Nevertheless he was not all to happy : ” there wasn’t anything wrong with the strategy or anything in that sense” he said. He continued “We saw in FP3 that once the track gets colder, it seemed that others were performing a bit better than us. We knew the pace was there yesterday but it wasn’t there today” .

He too looked forward to the next race.

Guenther Steiner

Haas F1 Principle Guenther Steiner was also very short. “today, our car just didn’t have the speed.” he hopes the car performs better in Brazil.

Next race will be in two weeks time at Sao Paolo, Brazil.

Formula One Mexican Grand Prix 2022 – race results

1Red Bull RacingMax Verstappen25
2Mercedes F1Lewis Hamilton18
3Red Bull RacingSergio Perez15
4Mercedes F1George Russel13
5FerrariCarlos Sainz10
6FerrariCharles Leclerc8
7McLaren F1Daniel Ricciardo6
8AlpineEsteban Ocon4
9McLaren F1Lando Norris2
10Alfa Romeo F1Valtteri Bottas1
11Alpha TauriPierre Gasly0
12Williams F1Alexander Albon0
13Alfa Romeo F1Guan Yu Zhou0
14Aston Martin RacingSebastian Vettel0
15Aston Martin RacingLance Stroll0
16Haas F1Mick Schumacher0
17Haas F1Kevin Magnussen0
18Williams F1Nicolas Latifi0
19AlpineFernando AlonsoDNF
20Alpha TauriYuki TsunodaDNF

Geef als eerste een reactie

Laat een reactie achter